March 7, 2017 -Calm and Serene!

I meditated for hours yesterday. “When the mind is pure, joy follows like a shadow” -Buddha. I was so calm and the whole world was at peace. Everything slowed down. There wasn’t that chaotic turbulence in the situations. I felt happy looking at trees and the pink, violet, yellow flowers.

I wrote my Cloud exam. I don’t have a proper idea of what I wrote :P. Then off with Cloud Prof. to the canteen. We kept talking. It was so intimate. He wanted to know how the class perceived him as a professor(haha). He is a very good man. He kept pouring out his life onto me. I too told him of my long held fears. It was good.

We(the class) played cricket using bottle as a bat. It could not get any more childish. Later we had to present our urban planning project to Prof Verman. I quiet knew I did nothing in the project. My group mates felt they did something. Prof Verman said there is no data, go back and come with data. He said “What have you done?”. I was surprised everyone was silent.It was like everyone in the group felt the other knew but it turned out none of us had any idea.

My mom called and she still talks to me like I am a child. I guess I am. When I was eating in CCD yesterday, there was this interesting article on Benzo-overdose. Some of the famous celebs such as Michael Jackson, Heath Ledger, Amy Winehouse and Brittany Murphy have died to Benzo coupled drug overdose. Benzos can be lethal when coupled with other drugs such as opiods, alcohol, tranquilizers, Benadryl etc.Never touch benzos!

On the other hand, I am made to feel so bad whenever I pick up a newspaper. I read that a person killed his daughter in the name of honor killing. 4 year old girl was killed because the black magician said it would heal her uncle! Where are we in our rationality? World has it all!  At one end people trying to understand the universe and the mind and at the other we have people surrendering to foolish faith.

Mind is so powerful when it is still. It can pierce through illusion and see things as they are.When my mind was serene and calm, I read quotes of Zen masters Ikkyu and Ryokan. This particular quote by Ryokan on death touched me deeply.

Some day I’ll be a weather beaten skull resting on a grass pillow,
Serenaded by a stray bird or two.
Kings and commoners end up the same,
No more enduring than last night’s dream.” – Ryokan

Leave a Reply

